#parahustle


    Now if you’ve been a fan of the E.N.E.M.I. Facebook page, or you’ve been following us on Twitter @E_N_E_M_I  chances are you have seen my hashtag #parahustle a bunch of times… but do you know the theory behind it or what it means? Perhaps you don’t even care or want to know what it means? Hahaha but if that is the case then you are screwed because I’m going to explain it anyway! It’s my blog I’ll do what I want with it! =p
    From day one when I stepped into the paranormal community, I have brought a certain type of…..”hood”… mentality to how I approach things and how I operate. I know about the streets people, and I spent half my life on the wrong side of the tracks if you know what I mean-so the mentality is ingrained in me. When your on the streets you do what you have to do in order to survive, you have to “hustle” for the things you need. Hustle never sleeps because money never sleeps, your hustle has to be constant….sort of like how a shark has to stay in motion or it will drown. Did you know that about sharks? haha I am just a wealth of knowledge today!
   So despite how easy it looks on Ghost Hunters, or Ghost Adventures, or Paranormal State, or whatever fabricated paranormal show you choose to watch-in reality things are not that simple. There is so much stuff and work that goes on behind the scenes that people may not even be aware of, especially if your a small team without a TV show or any sort of name recognition…people do not just throw their doors open and welcome you in. If I knocked on somebody’s door to inquire about investigating their home they would take one look at me and think they were about to be robbed and murdered, I just have that look about me I guess….
   So how do you get your team’s name out there? Damned if I know, but here is what I have done for E.N.E.M.I. : Social media-we have a Facebook page, a Twitter account, a YouTube channel, we now have an actual website as well, I used to make flyers and hang them around the city, we have business cards, we have nice professional posters now, T-shirts, hats, I network like crazy with teams all over the world, I did almost 20 interviews last year on various paranormal shows, anything I can do to put E.N.E.M.I.’s name out there I will do, usually taking a huge hit in my wallet for my efforts. $80 for business cards, $50 for our posters, $100 on hats, $750 for 125 T-shirts, Danielle just spent almost $200 to get our website up and running-so that is over $1,000 just to let people know we exist in the hopes that they will call us if they ever have some paranormal problems….are you getting the point here?
   All that work just to “market” your team, and I have about $1,000 in equipment, this sure as hell isn’t a cheap field to be involved in! Since we are not douchebag parasites we never charge a client-EVER. Hell there is another hit to the wallet-you want to investigate somewhere your gonna need gas to get there aren’t you? Add in all the time spent researching locations, making phonecalls, sending emails to different locations, trying to organize fund raisers to help people in the community, making more phonecalls, getting rejected, sending more emails, getting rejection emails, making more phonecalls, getting laughed at by people, etc… you ever seen all that shit on TV? Of course not people because the shows are “entertainment” first, and actual paranormal investigating a distant second. Everything I have mentioned…that is the heart of #parahustle, no matter what we keep working and we keep grinding, and we display more passion and dedication than most people in the field. That people is the theory of #parahustle…this is the reality of being a paranormal team. Are you up for it? We’ll see….

                                                              Stay classy paranormal,
                                                                                  CJ

 

Leave a Reply

